Context-Aware Services, Applications, and NETworking


CASA-NET TEAM

Our Objectives

Objectives


With rapid expansion of wireless ad hoc networks and their interactions with wired networks together with the use of location-based services, social media, and the deployment of mobile and wearable sensor devices, it is now possible to develop context-aware applications and services such as those in healthcare and transportation. For example, information extracted from data gathered using mobile phones and embedded computers in buses and taxis could be used to understand city dynamics in real-time and therefore take mitigation actions. Data generated from indoor/outdoor sensors could provide more insights about people’s environmental context. Social media like Facebook and Twitter could be used to extract and record information about people’s preferences and relationship. Generally, the variety of these data could be processed to reveal the patterns of individual, group and societal behaviours in order to develop accordingly context-ware services and applications in different areas such as health, city resource management, environment monitoring, and transportation planning and management. However, handling context changes according to current data and events is a difficult task without supporting tools and techniques. The CASANET team is working on collaborative projects aiming at the development of context-aware services and applications that are related to real problems and needs in transportation, healthcare, and energy sectors. Main related research topics addressed are:

- Context-aware Wireless sensor networks
- Big data technologies and predictive analytics
- Complex-event processing techniques and tools
- Embedded and mobile applications and devices
- Location-based services and applications
- Case studies in ITS, healthcare, and energy sectors

Related Projects

Related Projects


CASANET

(CNRST, Morocco, 2016-2018).

SELFSERV

(VLIR-UOS, Belgium, 2016-2018).

HELECAR

(OpenLab PSA@maroc, 2016-2019).

MIGRID

(USAID-PEER, USA, 2016-2019).

Upcoming Events


Antifragile'2017

8th International Conference on Ambient Systems, Networks and Technologies

CASANET'2017

1st International Conference on Context-Aware Services, Applications, and NETworking

Involved Members


Institution

Full Name

Contact Info

Université Internationale de Rabat Mohamed Bakhouya mohamed.bakhouya@uir.ac.ma
Ecole Nationale Supérieure d'Informatique et Analyse des Système Mohammed Essaaidi essaaidi@ieee.org
Al Akhawayn University in Ifrane Mohamed Riduan ABID r.abid@aui.ma
ENSA-Kénitra - Université Ibn Tofaïl Nissrine Krami nissrinekrami@yahoo.com
Université Chouaib Doukkali Khalid Zine-Dine zinedine@ucd.ac.ma
Université Moulay Ismaïl Driss Elouadghiri dmelouad@gmail.com
Alternative Green Energy & Environment Solutions Mohamed Berdai mo.berdai.ct@gmail.com
University of Houston Driss Benhaddou dbenhadd@Central.uh.edu
Université Internationale de Rabat Radouane Ouladsine radouane.ouladsine@uir.ac.ma
Université Internationale de Rabat Vincent Felix vincent.felix@uir.ac.ma
Universiteit Antwerpen Vincenzo Deflorio vincenzo.deflorio@gmail.com
Université Internationale de Rabat M'feddal Hilali mfeddal.hilali@uir.ac.ma
Université Internationale de Rabat Alain Degiovani alain.degiovani@uir.ac.ma
Université Internationale de Rabat Mohamed Elouahabi mohamed.elouahabi@uir.ac.ma
Université Chouaib Doukkali Mohamed Khaidar mohamed.khaidari@ucd.ac.ma
Université Internationale de Rabat Nadir Maaroufi nadir.maaroufi@uir.ac.ma